5-Star Accreditation


Accreditation by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce indicates that a chamber of commerce operates under effective organizational procedures and contributes to significant positive change in the community.  The program started in 1964.  The St. Cloud Area Chamber has been accredited since 1975.

In 2005, the U.S. Chamber updated their program, awarding the designation as either Accredited, or Accredited with 3, 4 or 5 Stars.

The St. Cloud Area Chamber of Commerce has been a 5-Star Chamber since 2006, the first year that we were eligible.  To achieve this standing, we performed an intensive, nine-month self-assessment of our operations, and were awarded 90% or more of the available points, in nine areas of work:​

  • Governance
  • Government Affairs
  • Technology
  • Finance
  • Human Resources
  • Program Development
  • Communications
  • Facilities

5-Star Accreditation puts the St. Cloud Area Chamber of Commerce in the top 1% of chambers of commerce nation-wide.  We were the first 5-Star Chamber in Minnesota and one of only two in the state to achieve this designation.  The Chamber must seek reaccreditation every five years.